About Us

A Short History of St. Mary's Ukrainian Catholic Church, Mississauga, Ontario

In 1953, Mr. And Mrs. Lev Mizun donated a parcel of land just south of Burnhamthorpe Road on the east side of Cawthra Road for the Ukrainian Catholic community to build a church. Religious services had been held in the Mizun’s home for some time, until they donated the land and the church of St. Mary’s Dormition was constructed on Cawthra Road, just south of the Cawthorpe Plaza. The first church administrator was Rev. Michael Horodysky. He was replaced by Rev. Matthew Berko in 1967.As the congregation grew, the church elders decided that a larger church should be built. The design for the new church by Architect R. Dumyn was elaborate. From its basement foundation of greenish white Ontario marble to its three storey flat roof topped by a large central dome and four smaller copper turret domes each holding a gold cross, this majestic structure is described as “a unique blend of traditional Byzantine and Ukrainian Church architecture with modern aesthetics, materials and techniques. The church’s monumental form with glittering domes and crosses dominates the skyline, making it a landmark in the City. It was not completed until 1977. The congregation of St. Mary’s celebrated its opening with the first service being held on Sunday, December 25th. On Sunday, June 10, 2003, St. Mary’s Ukrainian Catholic Church in Mississauga, celebrated its 50th anniversary of the church’s founding with a Pontifical Liturgy and a gala affair attended my many dignitaries. At the time, pastor of our church was our current Eparch of Toronto and Eastern Canada, Most Rev. Bishop Stephen Chmilar. Today, with Dean Rt. Reverend Roman Pankiw as Pastor, the parish numbers over 1300 families.

Коротка Історія Собору Успення Пресвятої Богородиці, Миссиссаґа, Онтаріо

1953 року родина Лева Мізуна подарувала землю на полуднево-східній  стороні перехрестя вулиць Кавтра і Бурнгамторп Українсько Католицьким мешканцям Мисиссаґа на будову церкви. Відправи до того часу, часто відбувалися у домі родини Мізун, поки не була збудована церква Успення Пресвятої Богородиці на полудні від Каторп Плаза. Перший душпастир парафії був отець Михайло Городицький. 1967 року перебрав парафію отець Матей Берко.Парафія розросталася і прийшов час, що треба було будувати більшу церкву. План нового Собору, який склав архітектор Р. Думин був складний. Почавши від зелено-білявого мармуру з Онтаріо на фундаменті, до три поверхового плоского даху з чотирома бічними банями і великою сердньою баньою покриті міддю, а поверх кожної – золотий хрест, ця могутня структура злучує традиційний Візатійський стиль української церкви з модерним виглядом, технікою і матеріялами.Велич нашого Собору, могутні бані і золоті хрести можна бачити з далека у місті Мисиссаґа. Собору не повно докічено було аж 1977 року і 25 грудня офіційно було відправлена перша Свята Літургія. У неділю 10-го червня, 2003 року Собор Успення Пресвятої Богородиці у Мисиссаґа святкував 50-ти ліття свого заснування Архиєрейською Службою Божою, урочистим прийняттям, з участю багатьох достойних гостей. В той час парохом був теперішній Преосвященніший Владика Кир Стефан, Епарх Торонтонський і Східньої Канади. Сьогодні наш Собор під душапстирським проводом Пароха отця Мітрата д-ра Романа Паньківа, Декана, та парафія складається з понад 1,300 родин.

 

Make a Free Website with Yola.